But the fates of the Venugopala Swamy temple and 2 other nearby temple complexes were needed to be vacated and by 1930, with the completion of the initial phase of the barrage construction, all 3 shrines got submerged. The idol of deity Venugopalaswamy got relocated along with the settlement before the submission. The original temple site covered a huge ground, having an area of 91 m x 55 m. The temple building was symmetrical comprising of two 'prakaras'. The outer gate had the kitchen and yagasala along with verandas on both directions. A second mahadwara, was also present which led to the inner temple area.
After submersion, the Venugopala Swamy temple would resurface to the world during the drought years. Finally, after 70 years, the Khoday Foundation, under the leadership of Mr. Sri Hari Khoday, started the work of relocating and reinstalling the entire temple complex near Hosa Kannambadi.
The new Venugopala Swamy temple complex is situated 9 kilometers from the famous Brindavan Gardens. The restoration group mapped out the entire old temple complex accurately and then moved each stone to the new site at Hosa Kannambadi with the help of reputed artists and sculptors. The entire work was successfully completed by December 2011, and since then it has become a popular tourist site due to its unique backstory.
Venugopala Swamy Temple at 07:00 AM to 12:00 NOON and then 06:00 PM to 08:30 PM